Eagles Take Crown in Four of Eight Races at Chicago Public League Championships, Feature Four Individual Champions

Wednesday, October 23 2013 - Chicago Public League Championships - Emma Wilson

The Eagles had another successful campaign at the Chicago Public League Championships, winning half of the team races on the day (freshmen boys and girls, sophomore boys, JV boys) and continuing their streak in the freshmen and sophomore boys divisions.

The momentum started with a big win in the first race of the day as Emma Wilson became the first Lady Eagle to win a Chicago Public League individual crown at any level.  Wilson ran over a minute and twenty seconds faster than she ran to begin the season and earned a twenty-five second 'PR' to win the freshmen girls race in 13:51.  She was followed by Charlotte Geissler (5th), Rachel Jones (7th), Olivia Wagner (10th) and Ciara Greene (14th).  With five in the top fourteen, the lady Eagles scored a dominant thirty-one points to become the first ever Jones team to win a girls Chicago Public League title at any level.  

The boys freshmen followed the girls' example and ran aggressive races to place seven in the top 20 for Jones' fourth consecutive freshmen city title.  Arthur Santoro and Zach Benes led the team with fourth and fifth place finishes respectively.  They were followed by a breakout race from Josh Gerenraich to finish seventh and strong races from Will Moran (13th), Joey Bailey (16th), Daniel Garcia Rico (17th) and Stephen Claud (20th). The Eagles held off a tough Von Steuben team by twenty points.  

The boys sophomore squad pulled off the program's third consecutive Sophomore City Championship, edging out Whitney Young in a tight two team race which saw the top eleven runners all belong to the same two teams.  Nico Moreno ran a breakout 'PR' to win the race in dominating fashion, covering the three mile course in 16:10, a time that would have qualified him with All-City honors on the varsity level.  Moreno was followed by gutsy races from Nik Merten (4th), Alex Behle (5th) and Ethan Barreto (7th).  Freshmen Jeremy Adams finished strong running up a level to seal the victory in eighth place.  The Eagles were also boosted by stellar sixth and seventh men performances turned in by Stephen Kruto (11th) and Kevin Shannon (13th).

Continuing the day of streaks, the JV boys squad also defended their title from last year in dominating fashion as well.  Junior Daryl Cordova broke the field and won going away in 10:42.  He was followed by Anthony Morales (3rd), Enrique Sanchez (4th), David Salmi (5th), and Gustavo Colunga (8th) to score a low twenty-one points for the victory.  Also finishing All-City were Marquis Dixon, Cole Hamilton, Noah Lazers, and Michael Tobias.  

Adding to Jones' four individual champions on the day, the Eagles also went 1-2 at the varsity level for the second year in a row, and the third consecutive year that Jones has boasted the individual city champion at the varsity level.  Peter Schaible made a big move halfway through the race to drop the field and held on for the victory in 15:13.  Also separating him self from the field as the only other runner close to Schaible was teammate Kyle Maloney, who ran a dominating last mile to move from fifth to second and finished on Schaible's heels in 15:14.

The Eagles will look to defend regional titles in both boys and girls races next weekend, again at Washington Park.