Hou, Coronel Take Home Individual Titles at CPL Championships; Eagles Trophy at all Levels for Fourth Straight Year

Wednesday, October 25 2017 - Ruben Coronel

For the fourth time in as many years, the Eagles kicked off their post-season by earning trophies at all four levels contested at the Chicago Public League Championships at a rain soaked Washington Park.  Postponed by forty-eight hours due to heavy storms, the traditional opener to championship season was moved to Monday evening instead.  

Keeping two streaks alive, the freshmen “Eaglets” won their impressive eighth City Championship in a row, while the JV team took home their sixth crown in a row. Both teams also boasted the individual city champion and runner-up in those races, as seniors Ruben Coronel and Jesse Shufro-Zletz combined to go “1-2” respectively in the JV race and freshmen Aaron Hou and Michael Sommese took home the sweep in the freshmen division.

In both races, Jones placed five runners in the top ten, placing 1-2-6-7-9 at the freshmen level and 1-2-4-5-9 in the JV division, to secure commanding wins.

At the varsity level, the Eagles lost a heartbreaker to miss the title by two points, despite an impressive full team performance. For the first time in program history, and the only team in this year's race to do so, all seven Jones runners finished in the top fifteen (and 6 in the top twelve) to take home All-City honors, going 6-7-8-9-11-12-15, with six of seven runners under the 15:54 mark.  Unfortunately, despite a fifth, sixth and seventh man that were 42, 37 and 24 seconds ahead of any other team’s fifth man, respectively, the small field size up front only provided an eight point advantage in the nearly minute gap, which was a challenge that proved to be too big for the Eagles to overcome.  Jones' top-five once again ran a strong pack race with a tight ten second split (and twenty-eight second 1-7 split).  

In another close, but tough fought race, Jones’ bid for an impressive seventh straight Sophomore City Championship also came up slightly short.  Doing all they could in the front of the race, Sophomores Anthony Maida and Baito Sarkiss secured top-five finishes in second and fifth, respectively, while classmate Matthew Lagges also took home All-City honors in fifteenth. Sophomore Eric Hinch also posted a breakout race to step-up as Jones' fourth man, finishing with a nearly thirty second 'PR' in 17:40 for eighteenth place, while Colin Greiner rounded out the scoring for the Eagles in nineteenth.  Despite strong runs, the Eagles came up just short to a talented Lane Tech pack, but held on for a second place team finish to at least remain on the podium for another year.  
With their performance on Monday, it marks the eighteenth and nineteenth City Titles that the Eagles have taken home over the last six years out of the twenty-four total championships contested (a championship race for each level over the last six years). Going back seven years, a Jones team has now taken home twenty-one out of the twenty-eight titles up for grabs.  
Racing their second race in a span of six days due to the previous weekend's rainout, the varsity team returned to the course on Saturday morning for their inaugural appearance at the Lyons Township IHSA Regional Championship in Willow Springs, Ill.
Sophomore Ian Bacon led the Eagles with his fourth place finish to earn All-Regional honors, while seniors Jeremy Brown and Christian Reyes also finished in the top-ten with ninth and tenth places finishes, respectively.  Rounding out the scoring, senior Nicholas Rappe stepped up in the team's fourth spot ,while sophomore Ryan DeSantis rounded out the scoring
With their third place team finish, the Eagles now advance to the IHSA Sectional Championship to be held this Saturday at Katherine Legge Memorial Park in Hinsdale, Ill. The girls race will begin at 11:00 a.m. while the boys race will begin at 12:00 p.m.    
2017-2018 All-Chicago Public League Team
Varsity:  Jeremy Brown (6), Ryan DeSantis (7), Ian Bacon (8), AJ Fundator (9), Christian Reyes (11), Nicholas Rappe (12), Michael Villa (15)
Junior Varsity: Ruben Coronel (City Champion), Jesse Shufro-Zletz (2), Jeremy Yakes (4), Noah Fitch (5), Eric Arredondo (9), Adrian Ortiz (15)
Sophomore:  Anthony Maida (2), Baito Sarkiss (5), Matthew Lagges (15)
Freshmen:  Aaron Hou (City Champion), Michael Sommese (2), Andrew Blackledge (6), Luke Benes (7), Andy Niser (9)